Skip to content

Holy moly – I built a bed!

May 28, 2010

What started out as this…

DSC_2343

I made it into this…

DSC_2450

With some amazing help from my mom, who herself is a genius with tools, we were able to build this little bed in two days.

DSC_2365

Doug and my mom made all of the cuts. Someone had to keep their eye on this one when the power tools came out.

DSC_2359

DSC_2377

Once the cuts were made, it was easy to clamp it all together and build a frame. We followed instructions from Knock-Off Wood, which you have to check out – Ana is amazing and she shares all of her plans for free!

DSC_2402

DSC_2404

The headboard was simple; just have to be sure it is square, which is super simple if you have some angle clamps, smart call by my pops for picking those up as well. I have no doubt the job would have been a little more difficult without them.

DSC_2412

And an added bonus, since the bed is upholstered we didn’t have to worry about sanding and staining anything, just added some batting and fun stripped fabric and we were done.

DSC_2419

And voilà you have one happy little munchkin, who loves her new bed.

DSC_2446

Now, I am more than a little nervous for when the novelty of the new bed wares off and she just doesn’t stay in it, but at the moment she has been so great.

DSC_2463

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy G permalink
    May 30, 2010 9:28 am

    I LOVE it! And that fabric is amazing! Great job! You are really inspiring me to get crafty and I am NOT crafty. 🙂 My daughter already has a big girl bed, BUT she needs a headboard. That should be a fairly easy project if I get hubby involved. I have two little munchkins to watch … ages 4 & 2. Thanks for sharing your pics and info. 🙂

  2. Leann permalink
    May 30, 2010 1:05 pm

    WOW!!! Great Job.

  3. May 31, 2010 3:59 pm

    Wow! You did a great job! I would like to make one for my little cutie. Just curious, how old is your beauty? Mine just turned 2 a couple of weeks ago, but don’t think she is ready for a new bed.

    • June 1, 2010 7:43 am

      Larkin will be 2 in July. I knew that she was likely a little young for a big girl bed, however she has been taking naps on a cot at her day care for about 4 months now. She fell out a few times the first few nights, but seems to be getting the hang of it now. 🙂

      • kelli permalink
        August 11, 2010 1:59 am

        awesome! how much approx. for supplies?

      • August 11, 2010 9:14 am

        I was able to get the fabric on super sale for about $20 total and the wood, nails and glue were about $80. I was very lucky because my parents had all of the tools needed and the square clamps that made my job that much easier. Happy building!

Trackbacks

  1. Toddler Size Upholstered Bed How To | Colorful Creative Ideas

Leave a Reply

