Skip to content

Wishing I could catch up…

July 27, 2010
tags: ,

UPDATE: So, I got a letter from AMEX yesterday and all is clear. I will not be footing the bill for extra travel any longer. Now I just have to wait for my new card, which really shouldn’t be taking this long. I might have to call them again.

I had great intentions…trust me, today would have been the day to be here. Last night, I finally sat down to write about vacation, Larkin’s birthday and all the other craziness that has happened over the last few weeks, but I just had to check my gmail first. As a side note, email is evil!

Anyway, while checking email I came across an alert message from American Express…we are those people that charge everything on a card, even if it’s a $1 coffee, don’t judge. But I set up the alert to notify me when our spending has hit a certain amount each month, you know to keep everyone (and by everyone I mean me) in check. This new message was not friendly; we had already gone over our amount by $500 – what? WHAT? How is that even possible!?! AMEX explain yourself! We are only 12 days into our billing cycle!

So, apparently my card number has been stolen and someone is having one hell of a time on trains in NYC – $1367 worth of fun in fact. Awesome! And they didn’t even buy something cool! No, it appears they only bought train tickets….I mean seriously, if you are going to the trouble to steal someone’s card number wouldn’t you want to get something cool out of the deal like a TV or something! You could have a really nice shiny one that hangs on the wall with a mirror over top so when it’s turned off no one knows it’s a TV. Wouldn’t that would be nice – I totally saw one on HGTV this weekend! I need to get a life!

After a brief 15 minute call with the AMEX customer service line, I will be getting a new card shortly and the fraud department will be sending me a letter about my new friends in New York in the next month. In the meantime, I can’t buy anything…we don’t carry cash remember. 😦

What does this mean for all of you? Well, you lucky readers get a story about my new $1367 train tickets rather than see pictures of my vacation. Aren’t you glad you clicked on over to my slice of the internets today?

Peace!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aunt Kelly permalink
    July 27, 2010 9:32 am

    I have a gift card for Giant Eagle from work. . .we don’t have one of those in Dayton. . .let me take you to get some groceries :o) or at least 2 nights worth of dinner :o)

Leave a Reply

