Skip to content

A helping hand…

September 1, 2010

Yesterday, my workplace sponsored a dinner at a local YWCA family shelter and I helped. I really prefer to keep my personal life and this blog completely separate from what I do to keep the lights on at home, but I thought this was worth sharing, especially since I ended up taking pictures most of the evening.

Our team forgot to bring along the office camera last evening to document our community outreach project. I always have a camera with me and volunteered to fill the void of staff photographer for the evening. I won’t share most of the 40 plus shots I took while there; I don’t want to violate anyone’s trust. But I will say that I had a blast. It was a great time to really come together as a team and do something good for our community at the same time.

We made dinner, spaghetti and meatballs, for the nearly 200 residents at the family center. It wasn’t elaborate or fancy, but it was nice and I think everyone seemed to enjoy it.

243/365

After reviewing all of the shots I took at the event, I know that I still have a lot to learn about photography. I would have liked to get more group shots of people together, but I was too nervous to interrupt the busy work being done to ask anyone to pose. I also know I need to work more on my timing. I can sometimes get impatient and just start snapping away, trying to get tons of shots in when just one good shot would have been better.

DSC_4924

I will work on it. But I was thankful to have this opportunity to do something new – not just pictures of my kid all the time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

